The Big One

You know what makes a Monday better after you’ve spilled coffee all over yourself and sat through the most boring 2.5 hour lecture?

A killer leg workout and a killer salad.

Am I the only one that craves salad?

DSC01324

mmmm chickpeas, tuna, tomato, bell pepper, spring greens, and tarragon vinaigrette. 

DSC01330

paired with carrot sticks, cucumber, and Trader Joes Chipotle Hummus.  Man did that baby have spice!  Whew 🙂

DSC01331

Perfect lunch….wait…did you say “too many vegetables”!?!  Blasphemy!

I’m actually considering buying this shirt:

If you are weird like me, then you should click on the image and purchase one.  :)  They have special sizes for your pets as well, and a fun tote.  Christmas present ideas PEOPLE!!! Your welcome

So,  you’re probably wondering….what’s “The Big One”?

Well, since March 2009, I have raced 5 half marathons.  After a horrible fall out from training with my first marathon (helloooo MONO), I have decided to give the Full Marathon another shot.

Enter:

May 15, 2011 is the set date for my first marathon.  I have run the half marathon in Pittsburgh the past 2 years.

I PR’ed this past year: 2:00:31…that 2 hour time mark is elusive to me 😦

So, as I get ready, I’ll share my training plan…I’ll probably use a Hal Higdon plan (very doable). 

You’re probably wondering about the knee/IT Band?  Well it’s getting better!  Slowly but surely.  I did some strength training on it today, and I ran on Saturday (3 miles). 

DSC01323

Oh and I ice it a lot.  Yep that’s a bag of frozen corn.  Trust me, for 99 cents, you have instant therapy.

 

Are you a runner? 

If so, what’s your favorite race?

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

4 responses to “The Big One

  • Sarah

    Congrats on the marathon announcement! I have just signed up for my first HALF marathon (the disney princess half marathon in february) Im really excited about it…. who knows maybe one day ill run a full marathon too 🙂 Hope your IT bands cooperate, i have recently been having trouble with them 😦 ice and foam rolling is working wonders though, good luck!

    • eatontherun

      I ran the Princess as my FIRST!! (see my running page) I loved it. IT bands are awful when they are bothering you, I hope your’s cooperates through training. Let me know how it goes (both training and the race)

  • DAD

    That salad looks great. Do you think it would make me run faster… haha

  • eatontherun

    Possibly! It has tuna in it and it made Charlie fast 🙂

Leave a Reply

