Spooky!

I haven’t carved a pumpkin since I was a kid…so needless to say I had to go to the store and buy a $3 manual with tools and templates.  Chris and I were going to do this right…so what happened?

We ended up freestylin’ anyways 🙂

DSC01051

You gotta clean that squash out.   It takes some muscle.  Can I count this towards my weekly tally in muscle conditioning?

DSC01050

Chris was happy…here.  This was only about 30 minutes into our 2 hour pumpkin carving spree.  I think hunger and tiring arms got to us in the end.

DSC01052 DSC01060

You have to get into it.  I mean really concentrate.  This is serious you know 🙂

DSC01053

Before lights…

DSC01054

After lights!  I made ghosts.  They weren’t too complicated. But Chris took on the challenge of a bat in a cemetery.  I guess if you aim for the moon you land among the stars…or in this case the tombstones haha.

DSC01056

I’m impressed!  So the picture was a little lopsided…I still think it was awesome 🙂

 

So after flying solo, we teamed up for a more traditional style pumpkin:

DSC01061

The PUMPKINS!  A face, ghosts, and bats.  Definitely Halloween worthy.

We went to South Street Smokehouse after we cleaned up (spread out a bunch of old newspapers on the floor and then just roll and go!).  A delicious barbeque dinner was eaten to refuel us after our pumpkin carving extravaganza.  Definitely need to go back: Carolina Style pulled pork sandwich! Yum

Plus, this dinner allowed us to let the sun go down and we were able to light the pumpkins when we got back.

DSC01062

DSC01063

DSC01064 DSC01065

DSC01066Soooo spooky!  I had to move the pumpkins closer to the house this morning though because we had hurricane like winds, we may have had a pumpkin coming through the window.  Not the kind of Halloween fright I’m looking for.

What do you do with all that pumpkin?  Well when life gives you pumpkins, you roast pumpkin seeds.

Pumpkin seeds are a great nutritional snack.  A fourth cup of these little cuties comes to about 150 calories.  They are a great source of magnesium and a good source of zinc, protein, and iron.  You can top salads with them, add them to hot oatmeal, stick in your granola, or just eat them up by themselves!

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

After taking the raw pumpkin seeds and goop from the pumpkin, put them in a large bowl and fill with water.  Dig in a start to rub the goop from the seeds and set the seeds aside on a baking sheet.  I found it easy to just pop off the seeds from the strings with two fingers.  Once all the seeds are separated from the goop, sprinkle with a little salt and roast for 1.5 hours at 300 degrees.  Let cool and eat up 🙂

DSC01067

I had mine with an apple for a great fall snack!

DSC01071

I’m definitely fueled to teach cycling and hopefully kick butt on my exam this week…we shall see :)  Positivity is key here!

 

How are you enjoying fall? 

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

6 responses to “Spooky!

Leave a Reply

