Where I’ve Been

I haven’t blogged for quite a few days.  I haven’t even given you an inkling as to where I’m at.  I apologize, but I’ve been very sick.  Yes, I know, I was sick before!  I’m a healthy living 20 something and I can’t seem to stay healthy…hmmm something wrong with this picture.

So here’s where I have been:

DSC00995

Yep, my bed.  Oh I’ve also been here:

DSC00994

Yep, that’s my couch.  I’ve been very active.  I move between the two spots as my body allows.  I did make it to campus today though.  I’m quite proud of myself for this.

Who have I been spending time with?  Hmmm, well these folks:

DSC00990 DSC00988

DSC00992 DSC00993

So, I must apologize.  I would have rather been blogging and enjoying life, but instead I’ve been sick 😦

I did create a culinary masterpiece while I was sick though!  This was created while I could still smell and therefore could still taste.  Another reason not to blog while sick: you can’t taste, so nothing tasty to write about, plus I can’t exercise…so no food or fitness to report of.

Here’s what I created and have been wanting to share with you:

Butternut Squash “Stoup”

Note: If you have an hand blender or a large blender, you can make this into soup, however if you like a lot of texture, don’t bother with either of those tools, and just go with the directions as follows 🙂 Also, I like calling it stoup, a way Rachael Ray describes her heartier soups! Love ya Rachael!

Ingredients:

  • 1 large butternut squash, cooked and peeled
  • 1 large potato (you could use a sweet potato, but I used a russet), cooked and peeled
  • 4-5 stalks of celery chopped small
  • 2 large carrots chopped small
  • 1 onion chopped small
  • 2 Tbsp canola oil
  • 2 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp Italian seasonings
  • salt and black pepper to taste
  • 4 – 6 cups chicken or vegetable stock

Heat oil in a large sauce pan.  Cook onion over medium heat for about 5 minutes.  Add garlic, carrot, celery and allow to cook for another 5 minutes over medium heat (stirring every so often).  Mash the potato and squash together.  Add to sauce pan.  Stir together ingredients.  Add seasonings.  Allow to cook for 3 more minutes.  Add 4 cups of stock.  Stir.  Allow to cook over med-low heat for 30-45 minutes.  You could blend at this point or just allow it to stay thick and full of texture.  If the stoup is too thick for your liking add more stock and allow to cook a little longer.

DSC00973

I topped mine with some parmesan cheese and dipped plain pita chips into it.  DIVINE!

 

I’ll be back to blog soon!  I promise.  I hope to be back tomorrow, so check back, you never know.  Until then, stay healthy, use your hand sanitizer, and eat well.

 

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

11 responses to “Where I’ve Been

Leave a Reply

