Productive

This weekend I’m finally feeling better.  So how does one spend a weekend once feeling better??? Being uber productive!! 

Here’s the list that I completed:

  • Clean the apartment
  • Vacuum said apartment
  • Clean litter box and vacuum around litter box
  • Take out trash
  • Clean patio and put away summer things (so sad)
  • Bake pumpkin
  • Make pizza
  • Grocery shop
  • organize closet
  • reorganize dresser
  • put away summer clothes and get out warmer clothes
  • read for class
  • prepare for stat quiz
  • fold laundry and put away oh wait…going do that during Desperate Housewives!  (I hate folding laundry, if anyone would want to do this for me in exchange for me doing your grocery shopping it’s a deal!)

This list was completed in 24 hours with a nice 9 hours of sleep :)  So happy to be feeling better!

So you may have noticed that two points on the list included: bake pumpkin and make pizza.  Are you intrigued to know what I was doing to the pumpkin and what kind of pizza I made?  I hope you are because here ya go:

How to make your own pumpkin puree:

DSC00606

Recently I blogged about the pumpkin shortage and complained.  No longer will I complain because I am a strong woman and will make my own darn pumpkin puree thank you very much.  I will still miss you Libby.

Directions

  1. Cut tops off of pumpkins and slice in half (you will want to use small pie pumpkins)

DSC00790

do you see the pumpkin in the back?  I couldn’t cut through that one.  These suckers were hard to cut.  I had to sharpen my knife half way through. 

DSC00791

SCARY!!!  I had to shimmy the knife out.  The pumpkin was eating the knife. 

I now believe that there really isn’t a pumpkin shortage but rather the pumpkin puree people need a year off for their arms to rest.

2. Scoop out the pumpkin guts and put into a bowl (seeds and all will be used later on to make these:

DSC00796 )

3. Place face down on baking sheet with 1/2 cup of water.  Bake at 350 for 60 – 70 minutes or until super fork tender.

DSC00793

They wouldn’t all fit on one sheet for me, so I had to get a little one out.  Happy baking little pumpkins 🙂

4.  Take out of oven and let cool.  VERY IMPORTANT.  If you are an impatient person like me, you will burn your fingers off, which makes writing this post extremely difficult (I’m actually hitting each button with my tongue…haha JUST KIDDING).  But please, let the pumpkin cool.

5. Scoop out the pumpkin flesh and put into a large mixing bowl.  Mix the pumpkin together at high speed for 3 – 5 minutes.  If you have a really nice and expensive food processor, you may do your pumpkin pureeing in there.

6.  Freeze for 1 year, or put into the fridge for 1 – 5 days.

DSC00795

Pumpkin shortage fixed (for me at least, you will have to do the heavy lifting to avert this crisis for yourself) 

I can’t wait to make pumpkin scones!!!  Goodbye crazy high calorie Starbucks pumpkin scones, hello Melissa’s Perfectly Portioned Scones (to come later this week).

See ya’ll later….

 

 

Wait!!!!  I know, you thought I was going to leave and not show you my pizza.  I can be such a tease with my food. haha

Popeye the Sailor Man Pizza Pie

Ingredients:

  • 1 Pillsbury refrigerated pizza dough (the original)
  • 1/2 cup fresh chopped spinach
  • 1 small can of sliced olives drained
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/3 of a large red onion diced small
  • 1/2 cup pizza sauce (or any marinara sauce you love)
  • 2 cups of Italian blend shredded cheese

DSC00797

Grease a baking sheet and stretch out the pizza dough across it.  Bake for 8 minutes at 425.

DSC00798

Get your mirepoix (not the correct use of this term, but I wanted to throw it out there!) or toppings ready.

DSC00801

Sauce it up.  Put the toppings on including the feta.

This picture above is BEFORE cheese

This picture below is AFTER cheese:

DSC00802

Bake for 10 minutes at 425.

DSC00806

OHHH YUM! 

DSC00813

I had this pizza at the Boiler Market near campus and this is my best attempt at recreating it.  Definitely a keeper!  I hope you enjoy 🙂

 

Have a wonderful Sunday Night everyone and get a lot of sleep so that you can start your week right.

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

2 responses to “Productive

Leave a Reply

