Lean and Green

So how did everyone do with the Self Love Challenge #1???  Keep it up!  If you had a tough time, that’s ok!  Change takes a little while, so keep working on it.  🙂

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-

I finally got an antibiotic, so hopefully I’ll be feeling better before I head home next weekend!!! Yes NEXT WEEKEND!!! I can’t wait.  I miss my family and my home soooo much. 

Not only did I take my antibiotic…I took my vitamins like a champ and ate very well!

Breakfast

DSC00729

Breakfast consisted of a lot of coffee, and an amazing peanut butter toast, topped with banana and raisins.  So many of my favorite things.  Also, if you’re looking for a new bread selection from the supermarket, I recommend Nature’s Pride.  My favorite is the Nutty Oat.

I taught cycling tonight also!  I love my group of girls, they really help energize me after long draining days in grad school.

Dinner

DSC00731

Made a yummy healthy salad with romaine, cherry tomatoes, and yellow bell pepper.  Followed by……

DSC00732

MORE ACORN SQUASH!!!! Oh how I love acorn squash.  I need to go to the farmer’s market and get more ASAP because I’m all out 😦 .

Now it’s off to watch the Biggest Loser!!

^one of my favorite contestants!

Jillian and Bob went over healthy weight loss with the contestants tonight.  Some of the main points:

  1. You NEED to eat for weight loss.
  2. It’s all about calories in vs. calories out – so eat well but make sure you take in less than you expend (don’t go below 1200 calories a day and try not to go above a 1000 calorie deficit.  Your body may go into a starvation mode, which will inhibit your weight loss)
  3. Make your choices lean and green.  Make your meat choices lean: lean chicken, lean turkey, sirloin, lean pork.  And choose lots of vegetables and fruits. 
  4. Eat whole foods.  The less processing the better.

I’m glad that Bob and Jillian are advocating healthy choices such as these.  At least they aren’t buying into the media and promoting different fad diets (ie: Zone, Atkins, South Beach).

Have a wonderful evening everyone!

DSC00547

Charlie has been very active lately.  I have a feeling that the toy I got him had catnip in it.  Need to read the label!!!!  Till next time, I have a crazy kitty 🙂

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

One response to “Lean and Green

  • Sarah

    Sounds like a healthy day! I love the honey roasted peanut butter that you grind yourself at Whole Foods. It’s great for a protein treat with a little bit of extra sugar, to make it feel decadent.

Leave a Reply

