I Miss You

DSC00695

Acorn Squash has become my new favorite thing.  It can be savory, it can be sweet.  So last night I whipped up the quickest and most satisfying healthy dinner using a few leftovers.

Stuffed Squash

See this post for how to cook the acorn squash (super easy!)

Use 1 chicken breast.  Mix 3 tbsp of canola oil and 1 tbsp of chili powder.  Make into a paste and spread over the chicken.  Bake for 30 minutes at 375 (or you could grill it) flipping once.

DSC00693(I don’t like the way meat photographs…maybe I’ll become vegetarian just so I don’t have to take pictures of it hehe just kidding!)

Dice half the chicken.  Mix with black beans and salsa.   Put into the cooked acorn squash.

DSC00699 DSC00701

DSC00703 DSC00707

I think you could even do this with baked or fried tofu.  Make it vegetarian!(World Vegetarian Day is Oct 1st…THIS FRIDAY!)

I topped mine with a little mexican shredded cheese.  Soooooo good!  Definitely filled me up enough for me to handle the few beers I had going out.  Have you ever tried Goose Island?  I had 312 last night and LOVED IT!!!  Would have taken a picture, but I haven’t gotten comfortable enough being a food paparazzi to whip out my camera 🙂

______________________________________

Lately I’ve been really homesick.

I finally figured out when I’ll be able to go home again … Oct 8th – 12th.  Thank goodness!  But I still don’t like being this far away from my home or my family.

DSC00004I miss my pups!

DSC00155I miss my mom and dad.

DSC00211 DSC00220

I miss Penn State and State College. (as everyone who graduates does!)

DSC00280 DSC00268

I miss Penn State Fitness.

I think this is normal.  I think everyone who moves away from home goes through this adjustment.  I just hate it.

Let me please make it known that I am so blessed to have this opportunity to get my PhD here at Purdue.  I could do my thesis on just about anything because of the plethora of people and equipment that they have to offer.

I just wish this school wasn’t so damn far away.

Quote to Leave you With:

“Home is a place you grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back to.”

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

11 responses to “I Miss You

Leave a Reply

