Sweat it Out

So I wanted to write a post last night, but I was way too exhausted.  I apologize.

Dinner was late but fantastic!  Plus I had company for dinner which made everything that much better!

DSC00666

I went to heat up the grill to make grilled shrimp tacos but I waited till about 7:45 to do so…look how dark it already is!!  Goodbye long days of summer, I’ll miss you 😦

DSC00669

Having a light on the back patio definitely helps 🙂

DSC00667

So the grill got fired up!  I love my little Weber grill, perfect size for me.  I can comfortably cook for four people at one time.

The shrimp were marinated in 1/2 cup Franks Red Hot, 1/4 cup oil (I used canola), 1.5 tsp of chili powder and a little black pepper for 2 hours.

DSC00668

Onto the grill you go little ones!

DSC00672

Flip ‘em once and watch them curl.  When they curl up, you know they’re done.

DSC00673 

Plate em and serve 🙂

DSC00662

Serve with you favorite toppings: mine include avocado, diced onion, and black beans.

DSC00660

1 can of drained and rinsed black beans and 1 cup of your favorite salsa.  Mix together in a microwaveable bowl.  Nuke for 3 –4 minutes.  EAT! nom nom nom

(my roommate Jess taught me this and I’ve been hooked ever since, thanks GIRL!).

We gobbled up our dinner too quick for a picture.  Sorry!  They were that good 🙂

___________________________________

 

Then this morning I decided to go to Hot Yoga.   I’ve heard about this form of yoga for awhile, but was a little apprehensive.  I mean, who in their right mind???, would want to sit in a room heated to 90 + degrees and do yoga?  Didn’t make sense.  But, I try not to judge until I try something, so I went.

DSC00674

So I put on my skimmpiest form of workout gear I had (*gasp*), grabbed my mat, and took off! 

I have an ad from an old Runner’s World Magazine and it says “Sweat More, Negativity has a way of clogging your pores.”

I thought about this as I got deeper into downward dog, as I flexed my body into positions I never thought were possible, and as I slid  along my yoga mat.  I LOVED IT!  Hot yoga is my new crack.

So when I got home, I had to shower!  Immediately!  Then I needed to eat and get a green monster in me asap.

DSC00675

DSC00676 DSC00677

I love how avocado tastes on a salad!

My green monster is a chocolate one, so don’t be freaked out by the color.  This got delivered on Monday, so my Green Monsters have had two greens in them for few days:

DSC00635So many good things in it!

If you like this stuff but find it way too expensive, check out Amazon.com.   I got each canister of GreenSuperFood for almost half off plus I got free shipping.   BOGO?!?!

 

Well, I’m off!  Have a wonderful Thursday!  If you’re a Grey’s Anatomy Fan or Private Practice fan, tune in tonight….it returns :)  Don’t expect a peep (or tweet) out of me between 9 and 11.  I don’t like to be bothered during my shows 🙂

***May you drool over this photo till 9pm tonight….

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

4 responses to “Sweat it Out

Leave a Reply

