So Small

“To make a mountain of your life is just a choice” ~ Nada Surf

“Sometimes that mountain you’ve been climbing is just a grain of sand” ~Carrie Underwood

This is going to be a short post, but do you ever feel like things are built up to be a big deal or to be absolutely awful?  Or someone makes you feel like crap when there’s no reason for it?  Or do you ever feel as though sometimes things are blown so out of proportion that you lose sight of what really matters?

I’ve started feeling like that lately.  I’ve let professors make me feel as though their class is the most important thing in the world, when really there are so many other things that are much more important.

I’ve let fellow students belittle me even though they have no more authority than me.

I’ve let other people’s negativity bring me down, even when what I am doing would make me happy otherwise.

So, I keep thinking about the above lyrics.   “To make a mountain of your life is just a choice”.  You can keep fighting things, making a big deal about it, and complaining, are you can do something about it.   Or you can realize that it really makes you happy, and start enjoying it.

Remember, that the only thing you have control  of is yourself.

“There is so much about my fate that I cannot control, but other things do fall under my jurisdiction. I can decide how I spend my time, whom I interact with, whom I share my body and life and money and energy with. I can select what I can read and eat and study. I can choose how I’m going to regard unfortunate circumstances in my life-whether I will see them as curses or opportunities. I can choose my words and the tone of voice in which I speak to others. And most of all, I can choose my thoughts.” – Eat Pray Love

So, I choose to be happier.  I choose to enjoy my PhD program.  I choose to view things in my own way without letting other people influence me. 

Do you know what each song ends up telling you the solution is?  Love.  Carrie Underwood’s song ends like this:

“Oh when you figure out love is all that matters after all, it sure makes everything else seem so small”

and Nada Surf’s:

“But I never learned enough, to listen to the voice that told me, Always love, Hate will get you every time, Always love, Don’t wait til the finish line”

If you don’t love what you’re doing, and if you don’t have people you love in your life, then what’s the point? 

 

DSC00645

This had nothing to do with fitness or nutrition, but you’ve got to be happy to live a healthy life. 

I hope you choose to always show and give love: to other people and to yourself.

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

2 responses to “So Small

  • Kim

    Is this another pledge for our personal well being and self love? If so, I choose to take this pledge as well. Great motivational thought! My day will be so much brighter!

  • Brenda

    Life is tooooo short to hate anyone or anything. It is so much easier to love and have compassion. Time is all we have in this world so we should make the most of everyone and everything that we have!!!!!!!!!!!! I was blessed to be taught by the master (grandma)………

Leave a Reply

