Hit Reboot

What is it about running?

Why does it make you feel like superwoman?

Why does it have such healing powers?

Why do my stress levels dramatically decrease after a run?

I cannot answer these questions for you but my run today (with a great running buddy) was just what the doctor ordered!

DSC00581

I had half of a PB cookie larabar to fuel me for the run (I might attribute the amazingness of my run to the power of the larabar!).  Breakfast (Apples for Breakfast) was a long time before.

I laced up and I was ready to go…all I needed was my running buddy (who was running a little late, haha, no pun intended)

DSC00582

2010-09-12_09-15-49_224

It’s definitely fall (look at the leaves that have fallen) even though we are going to see 95 degree weather on Tuesday!!!??? 😮

DSC00586

4.1 miles in ~38 minutes.

Not bad considering I had to walk a little bit because I thought I was going to pee myself.  Too much pre-hydration!

________________________________________

After more studying (this exam will be over tomorrow morning, thank goodness) I made a delicious dinner…Spaghetti Squash!

It was my first adventure with it, but I was confident that I could pull it off.  And I did!

Herbed Spaghetti Squash

Poke holes in it with a skewer and place in baking sheet.  Bake for 1 hr at 375.

DSC00589

Slice the squash length wise and scrape out the seeds with a spoon (you’ll probably start to see how the spaghetti squash got its name at this point)

DSC00590

Scrape the meat of the squash with a fork to get the stringy consistency of spaghetti.  DSC00592

Melt 2 Tbsp of butter  with 2 tsp of Italian Seasonings and 1/2 tsp of garlic powder.  Mix in scraped squash.  Saute for a few minutes until all the squash is coated in the  butter mixture.

DSC00593

Serve with your favorite salad and top with parm or mozzarella cheese (will you hold it against me if I say that I used both?!?)  What can I say, with cheese, Go Big or Go Home!

DSC00594

I made a salad with mixed greens, spinach, feta, and sliced almonds.  I topped it with balsamic. Yummy 🙂

DSC00595

DSC00597

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope everyone had a lovely weekend!  Mine was study packed but I’m looking forward to the weekend of October 8th…I get to go home and go the Penn State vs. Illinois game for homecoming 🙂  Nothing could make me happier:  my family, my home, and Penn State Football!

Go State!

2010-09-04_12-43-33_250

Have you noticed my small obsession with Penn State?  I bleed blue and white, I can’t help it.

Quote to leave you with:

“Running is a big question mark that’s there each and every day. It asks you, ‘Are you going to be a wimp or are you going to be strong today?'” –Peter Maher

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

One response to “Hit Reboot

Leave a Reply

