I’m Stressed.

How do you deal with stress? How do you keep yourself from pulling your hair out or throwing your notebook across the room?  How do you stay calm when everything in your being is telling you to explode?

Today I was confronted with this issue.  Here’s the mental picture that I kept in my head the whole day…

DSC00148

This is from the Atlantis resort in the Bahamas.  Ohhhh goodbye stress, hello Pina Colodas 🙂

Needless to say that this location and a vacation is beyond my reach at this point.  So how do I reduce my stress levels without checking out for a week?

Good thing I read my Fitness Magazine this month!

DSC00544 

DSC00545

Here are a few statistics and facts from this article:

  • 75% of Americans feel stressed out
  • Half eat unhealthfully because of it (I just seem to lose my appetite…same thing)
  • 47% can’t sleep because of it
  • 1 in 3 develop a depression because of it

WOW! 

Ok, so we seriously need to figure out how to cope with this crazy amount of stress.  I was reading up on symptoms of stress and here is what I got:

  • Digestive Issues
  • Sleep Problems
  • Raised Blood Pressure
  • Hyperactivity
  • Drinking or smoking more…

So the last one is where I stopped and looked at the beer I was consuming because I was having a stressful day…hmmm.  At least I haven’t started smoking. 

The article goes on and says that many people tell you just take a deep breath, or take a bath, or watch a comedy.  Usually I just get antsy when I take a bath, my breath turns into hyperventilation, and I can never seem to understand why these people are laughing because there are serious problems to deal with in the world!  Seriously PEOPLE!! 

Obviously, this is not the solution.  Fitness Magazine finally gave me the reason why teaching cycling, a long run, and an hour of yoga soothe me:  Stress is physical, so you need something physical to calm it.  Period

Recent studies have seen that exercise morphs the brain so that you respond to stress differently than those who don’t exercise.  This says that a workout may actually remodel the brain to be more resistant to stress! 

Here’s the clincher!  You have to be consistent.  As soon as you stop, your reaction to stress returns and you’re back to square one.  Does this give you just one more reason to stick with your marathon training???  YES!

Here is what have I found to be helpful during times of stress (not all include exercise)

Cooking/Baking

DSC00344

Working Out

DSC00265 DSC00254

Being with Friends and Family

DSC00011 DSC00015

So start to think now what makes you feel better after a tough day. 

What calms your stress?  LET ME KNOW!!! We all can benefit from new ideas 🙂

 

Quote to leave you with:

Some of the secret joys of living are not found by rushing from point A to point B, but by inventing some imaginary letters along the way.  ~Douglas Pagels

 

Have a wonderful weekend, and do something that helps you to de-stress.

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

2 responses to “I’m Stressed.

  • Katie Molland

    On the weekends, it really helps me de-stress to do the laundry, put it all away, make sure I have groceries, and sketch out a rough meal plan. It’s like taking care now of the stuff that would make life terrible during the week (no one works well nekkid and hungry!) totally decreases my total stress load. Overall I deal with stress by having a plan and working it. The best part of my “plans” though, is that I factor in 2 hours a day for random unpredictable mishaps, so that when crap happens, it doesn’t stress me out! 🙂

    • eatontherun

      HAHAHA! That’s great. It’s so true that when all the little things are taken care of, your week runs more smoothly. I think I’ll go get my laundry done and write up my meal plan for the week (I usually do that, its great, at least you know at the end of the day you’ll have something to eat). Thanks for ideas 🙂

Leave a Reply

