Self Love

So I just realized I never gave you the recipe for the chickpea salad that accompanied my game day feast!  Oops….so sorry if you have been waiting oh so patiently for it.  Thank you for not yelling at me through cyber space.

Here it is 🙂

Bell Pepper, Tomato, and Chickpea Salad

DSC00480

  • 2 cans of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
  • 2 chopped bell peppers ( I used a yellow and green bell pepper)
  • 1 large fresh tomato chopped
  • fresh cracked black pepper
  • 1 – 5 oz tub of good feta cheese
  • 2/3 cup of your favorite vinaigrette dressing (I love Wegmans Tarrgon vinaigrette)

Drain the chickpeas, rinse and  allow to drain to dry.

DSC00477

Chopped your veggies! I like them chopped thicker but you can make them any size (have fun with it!).

DSC00478

^My mad knife skills 🙂

DSC00479

Toss all ingredients together.

DSC00481

Top with fresh cracked black pepper (my mama bought me a pepper mill when I first moved into my apartment in July, and MOM!!! That has to be one of my favorite kitchen tools…THANKS! xoxo)

I served my chickpea salad in these uber-cute bowls I found on the clearance shelf at Target (can you say 99 cents???) :

DSC00485

I love earthy, organic things.  At least Charlie didn’t try to attack the bird hehe.

DSC00411

He has too much self grooming to do to worry himself about a silly bird!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Self Love:

Yesterday I posted a pledge that I asked you to take.  Some of you commented and said that you were going to take it, and I’m so happy!  But I also hope that those of you who didn’t comment also took the pledge. 

I have been keeping up with this Blog called “Operation Beautiful”.  Above is a quick video about its mission.

One of the craziest things that I learned is that the average American girl starts to diet at the age of 8! 

My Story:

I need to share this just to make the point that negative body image affects everyone, even people who may seem the most confident.  I remember going through these same issues during high school.  Fat talk, the self loathing, were enough to send a young impressionable girl (that girl being me) into a spiral of low self esteem.  I deprived myself of everything that I loved.  I feared food. Even now I’m amazed sometimes that I wouldn’t even allow myself to eat cheese, butter, eggs, ice cream, or even a full meal sometimes.  I would feel as though I was having an anxiety attack if I missed a workout.  It took me a long time to recover. 

Today, right now, I can say that I have finally come to terms with my body.  I won’t look like the girls in magazines (actually they don’t even look like that, it’s all airbrushed!), but guess what!  I can run a half marathon, I can teach a kick butt cycling class, and I can do 25 pushups in a row!  My body is strong.

Take this time to examine what strengths your body has. . .

Two exercises I’d like you to try:

#1 The next time you complement someone, don’t make it about their looks.  Instead of saying “Your arms are so toned” try “You are the best baker I know!”.  Complement someone on their inner beauty, on their talents, on their heart ❤

#2 Think about someone who you think shines from the inside out.  Someone who’s inner beauty just glows.  I immediately think of my Grandma.  She passed away in May of 2008, but when I think of true inner beauty, she is the first person that comes to mind.  Model their beauty, because it is the kind of beauty that lasts . .  .

 scan0001

Points to remember:

– You will not gain weight from eating one dessert

– It is wonderful and perfectly acceptable to enjoy your food (I LOVE FOOD!)

– Eating is not a sign of weakness

– Do not compare your body to others

YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!

 

Quote to leave you with tonight:

“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.” – Audrey Hepburn

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

8 responses to “Self Love

Leave a Reply

