A Few of My Favorite Things!

Today was actually a pretty good day!  Definitely didn’t feel like a Monday, at least not as much as the Tuesday after Labor Day (weird huh??).  This is why America does not have 3 day weekends; your brain turns to mush (see exhibit A below)

Also, I forgot to tell you about the most amazing sandwich that I made this weekend.  Listen to this:  Peanut Butter, Banana, Apple Sandwich on Cinnamon Raisin Bread.  I can hear everyone going “mmmmmmmm”.  I won’t hold it against you if you start to day dream about it too and miss the next few sentences.

On Saturday I went to the Great Harvest Bakery.  I was determined to find their location after visiting them at the Farmer’s Market.

2010-09-11_14-11-18_554

After pulling in, I almost ran into the door without taking a picture to document the moment.  If I could go all Willy Wonka on this blog and incorporate smell-o-vision, I would!  The scents radiating from this small building should be illegal.  I wonder if traffic slows down or comes to a complete halt when bread is baking???

When I went in, the guy at the counter offered me a taste of fresh baked spinach and feta bread.  Immediately, I imagined myself making a grilled cheese with the Butterkase cheese I have from Fair Oaks Farms and fresh tomato.  But, that will have to wait for another day, because I bought the cinnamon raisin bread.

Here’s the moment you were waiting for.  If you started daydreaming about the sandwich before, now’s the time to snap out of it and continue reading 🙂

Peanut Butter, Banana, and Apple Sandwich on Cinnamon Raisin Bread

Put peanut butter on both sides of the bread (as much as you want!)DSC00470

Slice apple and banana really thin and start to layer.

DSC00471

Doesn’t that just look heavenly?  Normally I would take a picture of me eating the food, however this sandwich was down the hatch so fast that I had no time!  I ate it so fast it took my stomach a little while to register the food.  For a little bit I considered making a second one.  That would have been a bad choice because this sandwich is very filling (and I mean VERY!).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I decided to dedicate part of this blog post to a few of my favorite things (tribute to The Sound of Music…watch it if you haven’t already)

They are separated by category:

FITNESS

DSC00509

Foam Roller:  I have a lot of hip and IT band issues and this big blue guy really helps!  It’s a little intense sometimes and also cumbersome to transport so I bought The Stick also.  Its great for after a race or to take to the gym with you after a tough workout.

Kettlebell:  Goodbye dumbbells (ok, not really, but my dumbbells resemble something from one of the Rocky movies, so I’m in love with the fact that this weight is pink!).  Check out this workout, try it and tell me you don’t love kettlebells too.

Target Brand Antibac Moist Wipes:  pretty much these are the things your mom used to wipe your face with after a picnic, and now they are making a showing in my gym bag.  You don’t have to be the smelly kid anymore!!! 

Nike+ Sportband:  This guy is pretty accurate once you calibrate it (use mapmyrun.com to do this).  Plus if you have been wanting a Garmin but don’t want to dish out the bucks, the Nike+ Sportband is just $59. 

FOOD

DSC00510

Wegmans Peanut Butter:  probably the cheapest peanut butter you can buy, but I love it!  Soooooo Creamy 🙂

Black Beans:  I use them as a side dish with almost everything.  Just microwave a can of them with 1 cup of chunky spicy salsa.

Larabars:  all natural and vegan plus the peanut butter cookie flavor is oh sooo yummy

Food Should Taste Good Multigrain Chips:  these were made to go with hummus!  Also they were good with my No Joke Spinach and Artichoke Dip.

Cracklin Oat Bran:  perfect snack but be prepared for people to ask you if you are eating dog food hehe

Green Dance Wine:  Best winery by far!  They make great fruit wines and their cabernet is one that I will always purchase during a visit.

Vitamin D Supplements:  Goodbye Seasonal Affective Disorder!  Try taking up to 1000mg in a supplement each day.

 

Later on in the week I am going to do a “Favorite Things” post on some of my favorite websites (off the beaten track), so please come back and check those out 🙂

Hope you’re not having a “Case of the Mondays” hahahaha

Quote to Leave you With:

“Yeah, I just stare at my desk, but it looks like I’m working. I do that for probably another hour after lunch too, I’d say in a given week I probably only do about fifteen minutes of real, actual, work.”  -Peter Gibbons

Never seen Office Space???  You’re missing out my friend. 

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

2 responses to “A Few of My Favorite Things!

Leave a Reply

