An Edible Game Day

I LOVE PENN STATE and I especially love PENN STATE FOOTBALL!

DSC00242

Go State!

So today I prepared myself for the game.  It was going to be tough, I knew that much.  We were playing #1 ranked Alabama….The Crimson Tide (who for some odd reason has an elephant as their mascot.  Crimson Tide and Elephants??  Please explain.)

The best thing about the start of this game day was that I received a package from home with alllll my favorite stuff(thanks Mom and Dad!):

-4 jars of my favorite peanut butter (wegmans creamy!)

-a nittany lion mascot mug

-Penn State note pad (for all my crazy OCD notetaking)

DSC00494

DSC00495

Needless to say I broke out in song:

“Hail to the Lion!  Loyal and True!  Hail alma mater, with your white and blue!  Penn State forever, molder of men (and WOMEN!)!! Fight for her honor, fight and victory again!”

There’s a part in this song that goes…

“Indiana has its Hoosiers, Purdue its gold and black.
There’s Illini on the warpath and Spartans on attack.
Ohio State has its Buckeyes, up north the Wolverines.
But the mighty Nittany Lion’s the best they’ve ever seen!”

Let me repeat:  “The mighty Nittany Lion’s the best they’ve ever seen”…I believe I have spoken gospel here.

Either way I made some darn good game day delites!

No Joke Spinach and Artichoke Dip

  • 8 oz reduced fat cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup parmesan
  • 2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp Italian seasonings
  • 1 – 14 oz can artichokes (drained and roughly chopped)
  • 5 sundried tomatoes (roughly chopped)
  • 1 box of frozen spinach (thawed and all moisture squeezed out)

DSC00472

Chop artichokes and sundried tomatoes.

DSC00475

Ring out all the moisture from the spinach (always looks and feel icky)

DSC00476

Mix all ingredients together.  I like to use a hand mixer and then use a spatula to get all the little bits incorporated.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  Stir halfway through.  I like to add a little bit of Italian Breadcrumbs and a sprinkle of parmesan after I stir it.  You can omit this part if you’d like.

DSC00482

Enjoy with cut crostini, multigrain tortillas or veggies!

Also, if making for game day, be sure to serve on team appropriate plates:

DSC00483

Yes even in the Mid-West I have a stash of PSU dining ware.

DSC00484

A game day spread! Leinenkugal’s Oktoberfest Beer was also around for the game.  PSU lost, so I needed to have an extra beer to mask the pain (I only had 2! Do not worry here!)

DSC00486

mmmmm mmmmm

Chickpea, Tomato, and Bell Pepper Salad also was served.  Come back for that recipe another time.  I believe I will have a wide variety of leftovers for my lunch box this week!

Hope you enjoy this recipe and that you enjoy all the football games that are coming on this weekend.  Who are you rooting for?

Quote to leave you with:

“Success without honor is an unseasoned dish; it will satisfy your hunger, but it won’t taste good. “

Joe Paterno (Penn State Living Idol)

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

7 responses to “An Edible Game Day

Leave a Reply

