Woke up starving!

DSC00350

This morning I had all the intentions of getting up and running a 5 miler.  However, the grumbling in my stomach made me forgo that idea and instead have a huge cup of coffee (Nantucket Blend today) and read my Daily Collegian.  While waking up I made an overnight oat parfait as seen on Oh She Glows.

Oatmeal Cookie Overnight Oat Parfait

Directions:

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1.5 tbsp flax seeds
  • 1/2-1 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • .75 cup vanilla soy milk
  • 1-1.5 tbsp raisins (I used 2…I love raisins!)
  • 2 ripe bananas

The night before

Place all ingredients in a bowl and let them sit in the fridge overnight (hence “overnight” oats)

Take 2 bananas and freeze in small chunks (do this the night before also).

The next morning

Take the bananas out of the freezer, and let them thaw about 2 minutes on the counter. This helped me get mine to blend better.  Stick them in your food processor. It should take about 3-4 minutes to get the bananas to the consistency of fro-yo.

(no not ala Ben and Jerrys….BETTER!)

See!

DSC00352

Stir your oats from the fridge.  Take a tall glass and layer your oats with your banana soft serve.  Enjoy!

DSC00353Thank you “Oh She Glows” for the wonderful recipes and making my morning that much better!

Quote for the morning:

If people were meant to pop out of bed, we’d all sleep in toasters. ~Author unknown  (hehe, soooo cute)

Have a wonderful day!

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

2 responses to “Woke up starving!

Leave a Reply

