More Healthy Comfort Food!

As a segue from my previous post, comfort food can be both yummy and healthy!  Can I get a hip-hip-horray for that!?

Last night, I was feeling a little homesick, and a way that I combat that usually is  by looking through my photo albums and making a dish from mom’s kitchen.  So, I made my mom’s White Chicken Chili.  Yesterday was the first day that the mid west had a taste of fall weather, so it was the perfect end to the day.  Here’s the recipe:

Mom’s White Chicken Chili

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breasts (cooked and shredded)

1 medium white onion, chopped

2 cups low sodium chicken broth

2 cans low sodium cream of chicken soup

1 – 4 oz can green chilis

2 cans white navy beans (do not drain)

2 tsp california style garlic powder

2 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp cilantro leaves

1/2 tsp ground red pepper (I add more, I like spice!)

Make sure you boil and shred your chicken breasts before starting the recipe.  It just makes life easier!

  • In a large sauce pan (I used a big rachel ray pot!) heat olive oil and saute the onion for about 2 minutes over medium heat. Then stir in your broth and all the spices.  Simmer for 30 minutes.

Here’s all the healthy choice canned goods I picked up.  I’m very salt sensitive, so low sodium options are all I use.

  • After the 30 minutes, stir in your shredded chicken, beans, cream of chicken soup, and your chilis.  Simmer for another 15 minutes.

  • Top with 2% Monterey Jack Cheese, low fat sour cream, and scallions!  ENJOY

I like mine with a little bit of tomato.  The coolness really adds great contrast.

Remember, you can always stick this in your slow cooker.  Just dump and go, turning the slow cooker to low heat for about 6 hours.

Coming soon….Adventures with TOFU 🙂

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

3 responses to “More Healthy Comfort Food!

Leave a Reply

