Turn it Up!

Right now, my iPod has an eclectic mix of songs for my workouts.  Anything from Bruce Springsteen to the Black Eyed Peas could pop up at any moment.  We all have our favorite workout songs, and there is actually science behind our tunes that gets us into the workout mode.

Researchers have found that exercisers who listened to self selected music had a lower rate of perceived exertion than those who listened to no music (which means they felt that the same exact workout was easier with their own music).  They have also found that music has the ability to lessen those unpleasant feelings we have during exercise (such as burning legs).

Your physical awareness also is affected by music.  Participants who listened to music during a strength grip test had higher strength scores when listening to uplifting and motivating music.  It may also take you longer to reach exhaustion when listening to your fav tunes.  Longer workouts usually mean high caloric burn and increased endurance.  Woo hoo!

Do you have a favorite song that gets you moving?  Here are few of my favorite workout songs…ones that I could not live without:

Bruce Springsteen “Born to Run” –  I feel as though I’m in one of those Nike commercials where running is the only thing I do (haha)

Lenny Kravitz “American Woman” – powerful beat

Black Eyed Peas “Imma Be” – the beat is almost meditative.

Melissa Etheridge “I Run for Life” – inspirational

Bob Sinclair “World, Hold On” – the rhythm is steady and my legs just seem to flow

One Republic “Good Life”  – new favorite

***Let me just say, it can be very liberating to run/exercise without any music:  just to let you and your thoughts duke it out.  Keep this in mind if your playlist starts to feel monotonous.

Tell me about your fav tunes or whether or not your need music.  Till next time, ROCK ON!

Links to check out related to this subject:

http://www.ideafit.com/fitness-library/beat-goes-effects-music-exercise

http://www.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE65D5M920100614

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Leave a Reply

