In Season

Two of my favorite things are coming into season: apples and fall squash.  Apples taste the best to me between now and about November.  Plus, when apples come into season, you know fall is on its way.  Here is one thing I love to do with apples:

image courtesy of google images

Apple-Raspberry Walnut Salad

1 bag of baby spinach

1 ripe fuji apple

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup freshly shredded sharp white cheddar cheese

1/2 cup raspberry walnut vingarette

Chop the apple into small bite sized pieces.  Apple skins contain many antioxidants and a lot of the fiber, so leave the skin on for extra benefits.  Put all ingredients in the bowl and toss right before eating.  Walnuts offer omega-3 fatty acids, and the amount in walnuts is significantly higher than most other nuts.  Hope you enjoy!  It’s great paired with a grilled pork chop 🙂

So you are probably wondering why I have gone on and on about apples when I also mentioned squash.  That is because I had to save the best for last.  This summer I have been trying to go vegetarian a few days a week (a complete transition may be coming…) and I have found zucchini and yellow squash to be very filling stand ins for meat.  Now that butternut squash is coming back into season, I cannot wait to start adding this beta carotene rich ingredient into my dishes!  Also a serving of butternut squash offers about half of your daily requirement for Vitamin C.  Plus, it has about 3 grams of dietary fiber, which helps to keep you filling full and is good for digestive health.  Here is how to get this delicious squash ready for recipes:

Cut in half length wise.  Take out seeds and place face down on a cookie sheet.  Bake in the oven about 350 for an hour or until the flesh cuts easily with a knife.  You can then cut the flesh out of the squash and stir into your soups or make a delicious risotto.  I have my recipe from the Parmigiano Reggiano Consortium, however there are many good recipes online!

Buon appetito!

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Leave a Reply

