Almost Vegan

So after a rough week, I decided to make “Almost Vegan PB Chocolate Cookies” (while enjoying wine…do not attempt at home). 

DSC00455

Recipe: Adapted from OhSheGlows

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup spelt flour
  • 1/2 cup AP flour
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 bar of Ghiradelli Dark Baking Chocolate (chopped)
  • 1/4 all natural creamy PB
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup honey ( I use my Uncle’s honey…DELISH!)
  • 3.5 tbsp canola oil

(Note: The chocolate is what makes this “Almost” vegan…you can go all the way and buy vegan chocolate chips, but I am a firm believer in using what you already have in your pantry)

Mix all wet ingredients together (PB, vanilla, honey, and oil) until PB is fully incorporated.

In another bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients minus the chocolate.  Whisk together. 

Add wet to dry.  Mix well (may have to use hands!)

DSC00450

DSC00448

^My Uncle’s honey! Good ole’ Mount Pleasant.  I miss you PA 

DSC00451

Add chocolate.  Mix into cookie batter.  Shape cookies into flat shapes and place on greased baking sheet.

DSC00452

Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.  Put onto a cooling rack for 10 minutes when they are done.  Should make 12 –14 cookies. 

They are crisper cookies so they are wonderful with hot tea, hot chocolate, or coffee.

DSC00458

I prefer mine with coffee!  They greeted me the next morning with all their PB and Chocolate gooeyness….you know what they said???? They said “TGIF Melissa!”

Note:  Do not bake late at night when you have a kitty who would like to get their beauty sleep.  It does not make them happy…see below

DSC00453

He waited so patiently by the sliding glass door for me to finish.  Do not worry, no cats starved during the creation of these wonderful cookies.  Ample turkey temptations were provided to the feline.  :)

Hope you enjoy these!  Let me know what you think.

 

Quote to leave you with:

"All I really need is love, but a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt!" -Charles M. Schulz

About Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Hi Gang! I'm Melissa and I'm blogging at eatontherun.net. I'm a RD2Be and am pursuing a career in nutrition and fitness. I hope to bring you lots of information and tips to make your life healthier and happier. Please join me on this journey! View all posts by Melissa @ Eat on the Run

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

